| 
    This document is provided 
    courtesy of theAmerican Contract Bridge League
 2990 Airways Blvd. 
    
    S 
    Memphis TN 38116–3847
 901–332–5586 
    S 
    Fax 901–398–7754
 
 NOTE: to view the latest revision of the 
    handbook,
 download the latest version of
    ACBLScore
 
                                                 ____________________ 
     
    LAWSCOM.033 (PAGE 1) 
          LAWS COMMISSION      KO TEAMS SITTING IN THE WRONG DIRECTION      If pairs at one table of a KO match sit in the 
    wrong directions, that      segment of the match will have to be replayed 
    immediately (even if      this is inconvenient to the teams) provided 
    there is enough time prior      to the start of the next session.  If time does 
    not permit replaying      the full segment, then as many boards as can 
    reasonably be played must      be played.  (Laws Commission - July, 1982)        UNAUTHORIZED INFORMATION GAINED FROM PARTNER'S 
    EXPLANATION      In situations where a player gains information 
    from his partner's      explanation to a question, whether or not there 
    was an alert, that      information is unauthorized and the director 
    may award an adjusted      score if advantage was taken.  (Laws Commission 
    - 5/84)        EXPLAINING AN AGREEMENT BEFORE OPENING LEAD 
    THAT DOES NOT DESCRIBE THE      HAND HELD      While there is a legal obligation to correct an 
    incorrect or      incomplete explanation, care must be taken to 
    phrase the correction in      such a way as to not mislead the opponents.  
    The TD may still adjust      the score because of the original failure to 
    alert or explain      correctly at the proper time by the proper 
    person when an opponent is      misled even though the player is mandated by 
    Law to correct the      explanation.  (Laws Commission - July, 1995)        LAW 12.C.1 - AWARDING AN ADJUSTED SCORE      The Laws Commission feels that the phrase "at 
    most 40% of the      available matchpoints" should refer to a pair 
    being awarded the      remaining matchpoints when they have committed 
    an offense against a      pair whose percent score is greater than 60% 
    (i.e., Top minus 63% of      Top when the non-offending side has achieved 
    63% on all other boards      played).  (Laws Commission - Spring, 1998)        NOTE: Therefore, our practice will be to reduce 
    the A- appropriately      when the A+ turns out to be in excess of 60%.  
    This will only be the      practice in pairs events, not individual 
    events.                                              (Office 
    Policy - April, 1998)        Comment: There is a consensus that the 
    irregularity referred to in      12C2 may include the event that transmitted the 
    unauthorized      information.  (Laws Commission - Fall, 2003)        LAW 21 AND OTHERS - MISINFORMATION      It happens, with disappointing frequency, that 
    one side is not give      correct information by an opponent.  The 
    incidence is probably greater      during the auction than during the play, so 
    let's look at those cases      first.  This incorrect information usually 
    comes from:        1. A failure to Alert (or an Alert when none 
    was due).       2. An incorrect answer to an opponent's 
    question.       3. A mismarked convention card.      Once this unfortunate situation occurs, what 
    next?  The director      refers to Law 21 B.1, which tells us:      "...a player may, without penalty, change a 
    call when it is probable      that he made the call as the result of 
    misinformation given to him by      an opponent...provided that his partner has not 
    subsequently called." 
    
   
                                                          LAWSCOM.021 (PAGE 2) 
     
                                                          ____________________ 
          Please note that for one to be allowed to 
    change a call, there are two      requirements:  Partner has not subsequently 
    called, and the call MUST      HAVE BEEN THE RESULT OF THE MISINFORMATION.  
    You are not allowed to      change your call simply because you were given 
    misinformation; you may      change it only if you would have made a 
    different call had you gotten      correct information.  If you do elect to change 
    your call, the burden      of proof that your original call was the result 
    of the misinformation      may fall upon you -- you are not permitted to 
    change willy-nilly.        Often, a player wishes to change his or her 
    call even though partner      has made a subsequent call, but the director 
    cannot allow that; he      must direct that the auction continue and look 
    into adjusting the      score if damage appears to have resulted.        It is wise for the director to ask a player who 
    can no longer change      his call (away from the table) if he would have 
    acted differently had      he been properly informed.  This will provide a 
    much better basis for      adjusting a score, or for declining to do so, 
    since somehow our view      of what we would have done often becomes a bit 
    different when the      entire deal becomes known.        One should not blurt out that one would have 
    done something different      -- no one at the table is entitled to that 
    information.  If the      director neglects to ask you in such an 
    instance, you might ask him to      speak to you away from the table.  This isn't 
    perfect, of course,      since even the request to talk with the 
    director might give      information to partner, but it may prove the 
    least of evils.        If you change your call (as permitted by Law 21 
    B.1.), your left-hand      opponent may also change his.  Note that is as 
    far as it can go --      never more than one call from each side may be 
    changed.  Any      information from the withdrawn call(s) is to be 
    considered       unauthorized for the offending side, and the 
    director should stand      ready to assign an adjusted score if he deems 
    that the result has been      adversely affected for the non-offenders.        Just as you may change a call based on 
    misinformation, you may also be      permitted to change a play similarly based.        Law 47 E.2.(a):      "A player may retract the card he has played 
    after a mistaken      explanation of an opponent's conventional call 
    or play and before a      corrected explanation, but only if no card was 
    subsequently played to      that trick."        Please remember that you must first call the 
    director before making      any of these allowed changes.  Endeavoring to 
    change your call without      calling the director may prejudice your 
    position.  You must also try      to use discretion in what you say to the table 
    in these situations      (and many others), since what you say may well 
    convey information      (unauthorized, for your partner) to others, and 
    this could well      adversely affect your result and/or your future 
    rights to redress. 
    
                                                  
           LAWSCOM.033 (PAGE 3)   
                                                          ____________________ 
          LAW 25 - LEGAL AND ILLEGAL CHANGE OF CALL      Until the opening lead is faced, the last pass 
    of an auction may be      changed without penalty if the director deems 
    that it was inadvertent.       This is also true for the fourth consecutive 
    pass in auctions when      there has been no bidding.  Likewise, the next 
    to the last pass, if      inadvertent, in both of these situations may be 
    changed without      penalty.  If a player is willing to limit his 
    score to an average      minus [B.2.a.2], a purposeful change of a final 
    pass is permitted.      However, if a player attempts to change his 
    call after the opening      lead has been face, Law 39 (Call After Final 
    Pass) would apply.                                             (Laws 
    Commission - July, 1997)          LAW 27 - BID OUT OF ROTATION      In the auction 1D - no action - 1H when the bid 
    out of turn is not      accepted, if the player next to call bids 1H 
    and the player who had      called out of turn changes his call to double, 
    the low-level double      should be deemed to specify hearts, thus 
    removing any lead penalties.      At higher levels, the double becomes less 
    meaningful as an indication      of hearts and may be based solely on high 
    cards, so the director      should impose a lead penalty in the heart 
    suit.  The commission also      pointed out that the fact that the double was 
    made with the knowledge      that it would bar partner is authorized 
    information to the offending      side.  (Laws Commission - Spring, 1998)        NOTE: Therefore, our practice will be to treat 
    these "penalty" doubles      at the one or two level as specifying the suit 
    and removing the lead      penalty.  (Office Policy - April, 1998)        LAW 45.C.4(b) - CARD PLAYED      In making decisions under this Law in the 
    future, we have the      following instructions from the Laws 
    Commission.        1. IN DETERMINING "INADVERTENT," THE BURDEN OF 
    PROOF IS ON THE      DECLARER.  THE STANDARD OF PROOF IS 
    "OVERWHELMING."  Unless there is      such proof to the contrary, the director should 
    assume that the card      called was the intended one.        2. IN JUDGING "WITHOUT PAUSE FOR THOUGHT,"       a. IF DECLARER HAS MADE A PLAY AFTER MAKING AN 
    INADVERTENT       DESIGNATION FROM DUMMY, A "PAUSE FOR THOUGHT" 
    HAS OCCURRED. Making       this interpretation has essentially put in a 
    time limit without       rewriting the law.  If declarer has made a ply 
    (usually a play from       hand but it can be a play from dummy to the 
    next trick) after an       alleged inadvertent call of a card from 
    dummy's hand, we are to rule       that there has been pause for thought.  
    Therefore, we may not permit       declarer to change the play from dummy.         b. IF DECLARER'S RHO HAS PLAYED AND THERE IS 
    ANY REASONABLE       POSSIBILITY THAT INFORMATION GAINED FROM RHO'S 
    PLAY COULD SUGGEST       THAT DECLARER'S PLAY FROM DUMMY WAS A MISTAKE, 
    A "PAUSE FOR THOUGHT"       HAS OCCURRED.  If we determine that the play 
    by declarer's RHO       suggested to declarer that some type of 
    mistake had been made, the       Commission is saying that this constitutes 
    pause for thought.  As in       a. above, we cannot permit declarer to change 
    the play from dummy. 
    
   
                                                          LAWSCOM.033 (PAGE 4) 
     
                                                          ____________________ 
            The Vancouver case is a good example: Had 
    declarer's RHO played a low      spade or diamond there would have been no 
    suggestion that declarer had      made a mistake.  Playing the king of spades was 
    such a suggestion.       Therefore, if declarer speaks up after the play 
    of the king, we are to      deem there has been pause for thought.  After 
    the play of a      non-suggestive card (such as a low spade or 
    diamond in the above      example), we are permitted (but not required) 
    to judge that the      correction, or, desire to correct was "without 
    pause for thought."        While some "equity" oriented players and TDs 
    may consider this a harsh      line to take, this interpretation brings Law 45 
    C.4(b) more in line      with 45.C.2.  In other words, the requirements 
    for deeming a card      played from dummy and from declarer's hand are 
    more similar using this      interpretation.        As in the Laws commission write-up the bottom 
    line is that there      should be strong presumption that the card 
    called is the card that      declarer intended to call.  (Laws Commission - 
    Clarified Aug, 1999)        LAW 61 - TIME LIMITS WHEN INQUIRING ABOUT 
    REVOKES      The Commission addressed the issue of whether a 
    time limit should be      established on the right of defenders to 
    inquire about possible      revokes by partner as provided in the footnote 
    to Law 61.  An      interpretation was made that a defender loses 
    the right to ask such a      question after he turns his own card face 
    down.  They also recommended      that the law itself should reflect this in its 
    next revision.                                           (Laws 
    Commission - Summer, 2003)          LAW 63.B - ESTABLISHMENT OF A REVOKE      In determining whether a 1 or 2 trick penalty 
    is in order, the      director must look to see what would have 
    happened if the revoke was      not corrected and the hand was played out. 
    Remember that this      provision does not apply in most ACBL events.                                            (Laws 
    Commission - July, 1997)           NOTE: Therefore, our practice will be as per 
    Law 70.B.3.  The director      will hear the opponents' objections with the 
    defenders or dummy and      declarer being able to confer to suggest an 
    alternative line of play.       In general, we should not offer lines of play 
    not suggested by an      opponent.  When dealing with the beginner/old 
    pro situation, however,      one might drop a hint as the Commission did say 
    "should not" rather      than "shall not", "may not" or the dreaded 
    "must not".                                             (Office 
    Policy - April, 1998)           LAW 70.B.3 - CONTESTED CLAIMS (CLARIFICATION 
    STATEMENT REPEATED)      When a claim occurs, both opponents (including 
    dummy in the case of a      defender's claim) have the right to inspect the 
    opponent's cards and      confer before they acquiesce.  If the 
    non-claiming side can show a      line of play, consistent with the claim 
    statement, that produces more      tricks for their side, the director should 
    award them those tricks.       The director should not raise objections on 
    behalf of the players      involved.  (Laws Commission - Spring, 1998) 
    
   
                                                          LAWSCOM.033 (PAGE 5) 
                                                 
              ____________________        LAW 75.D.2 - PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS      When a player's explanation has correctly 
    described his partner's hand      but not the pair's agreement, and even though 
    the partner is required      to correct the explanation before the defenders 
    make an opening lead,      ACBL policy is that the player should make a 
    disclaimer statement      before giving the corrected explanation.  This 
    may also be true when      there has been a failure to alert during the 
    auction.  If no      disclaimer is give, the director may treat the 
    original offense as the      one doing the damage and adjust the board to 
    protect the      non-offenders.  (Laws Commission - July, 1997)        LAW 81.C RECTIFYING AN ERROR OR IRREGULARITY 
    (BIDS, LEADS, SIGNALS)      The Laws Commission issued some guidelines as 
    to how Directors should      act under Law 81C:        The Director's duties and powers normally 
    include the following:      6. To rectify any error or irregularity of 
    which he becomes aware in         any manner, within the correction period 
    established in accordance         with Law 79C.        A Director should not prevent a player from 
    committing an infraction,      such as revoking. However, if a revoke is 
    established and no one      notices it, the Director should wait until 
    after the round is over and      then inform both sides what happened. He then 
    restores equity.        If a Director is called to the table and asked 
    to give a ruling on,      say, one part of an auction and he discovers an 
    irregularity in      another part of the auction, he must consider 
    the auction as a whole      and correct all irregularities.        Another example:  If a Director becomes aware 
    of a pair playing an      unauthorized convention, he must advise them 
    and follow through to      make sure they do not continue to play it.                                             (Laws 
    Commission - March 1988)          LAW 90 - PROCEDURAL PENALTIES      Procedural penalties, either mild or severe, 
    should be issued when      players depart from accepted procedure.  
    Usually this would happen      after due warning.  When a player steps outside 
    the bounds of      acceptable behavior, the director may assess 
    disciplinary penalties in      points or by suspending the participant from 
    part or all of the      current session.  Either penalty may be 
    appealed, but a committee may      not overrule the director on a disciplinary 
    penalty.                                             (Laws 
    Commission - July, 1997)   |