|  
    This document is provided 
    courtesy of theAmerican Contract Bridge League
 2990 Airways Blvd. 
    
    S 
    Memphis TN 38116–3847
 901–332–5586 
    S 
    Fax 901–398–7754
 
 NOTE: to view the latest revision of the 
    handbook,
 download the latest version of
    ACBLScore
 ADJUSTED SCORES 
    IRREGULAR PASSES CAUSING DAMAGE - LAW 23 
      ANOTHER EXAMPLE A THIRD EXAMPLE 
    ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT OPPONENTS' AGREEMENTS TWELVE OR 
    FEWER CARDS IN DUMMY PENALTY CARDS 
    - MAJOR/MINOR PLAYED CARD 
    
    CALLING ATTENTION DURING PLAY TO A CARD TURNED THE WRONG WAY 
    
    DISAGREEMENT OVER A CALL (OR CALL OF A CARD IN DUMMY) LEAD OUT OF TURN MISTAKEN BID 
    CLAIMS MADE WITH AN OUTSTANDING TRUMP MISTAKEN EXPLANATION 
    MISTAKEN BID/MISTAKEN EXPLANATION 
    NATURAL NOTRUMP BIDS 
    WITH UNBALANCED HANDS REVOKE TWO LOWER UNBID 
    SUITS RULINGS IN TEAM 
    GAMES INADVERTENT BID HUDDLES AND 
    HESITATIONS Law 73A Law 16A2 LOGICAL 
    ALTERNATIVE(S) 
    RESPONSIBILITY OF 
    PLAYERS TO PLAY BRIDGE THE WONDERFUL LAW 
    25 B 
 
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 1) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
          GENERAL      ADJUSTED SCORES      When called upon to adjust a score under Law 
    12.C.2, you should adjust      to a real score (not an average, average+ or 
    average-).  It should be      a very rare combination of circumstances which 
    make an artificial      adjustment appropriate.        Here is an example from the Boston NABC:                 West     North     East     South                        P         1S       2H               P        P*        2S       3H               P        4H        All pass                *Break in tempo        The table director decided that the 3heart call 
    was demonstrably      suggested and pass was a Logical Alternative 
    action for South over      2 spades.  Since the auction would have not 
    ended there (North would      have taken action, then West and/of East 
    possibly and maybe South),      the director protected to A+.        Once the director has judged to adjust, proper 
    procedure is to decide      upon likely possible and probably outcomes if 
    South passes.  The      director then selects the most favorable of 
    these outcomes that was      likely for the non-offending side.  For the 
    offender, the director      selects the most unfavorable one that was at 
    all probable.        In the above example, the director may have 
    concluded that 2S, 3H, 3S      and 4H were possible contracts with.  Perhaps 
    3H, 3S and 4H being      likely.  If the number of tricks to be taken at 
    a contract is not      clear, then the director will have to consider 
    whether each result at      that contract is possible, likely or at all 
    probable.  You could have      a situation where making a contract is not 
    "likely" but is "at all      probable" while going down one is "likely."        In the above hand, since 3S clearly makes only 
    three and 4H* was made      at the table; therefore it is judged likely.  
    The director should      assign +140 to the non-offenders as the most 
    favorable result likely.       The most unfavorable result at all probable is 
    also 3S (doubled      contracts were not even "at all probable") so 
    -140 is assigned to the      offenders.        *While 4H does not make with an alternate 
    defense, an adjustment to a      different number of tricks in a contract that 
    was actually played      should only be considered if the contract would 
    have been doubled or,      possibly, if it was reached on a different 
    auction. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 2) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            So after an irregularity, when the director is 
    called upon to adjust      the score steps to be followed are:             1. List the final contracts you think are 
    possible.           2. Decide which ones rise to the level of 
    "likely."           3. Select the most favorable one of these 
    "likely" results and              award the non-offenders.  Note that the 
    result being selected              is the most favorable result from the 
    body of "likely"              results.  If one "likely" result is 40% 
    and another 50%, the              most favorable of the two is selected.  
    You would not              automatically select the highest 
    percentage one.           4. Decide if there is a result or results 
    not judged "likely"              that is at all probable.           5. If there are any "at all probable" 
    results, add these to the              results considered "likely" and select 
    the most unfavorable.           6. Award the result selected in number 5 
    to the offender.                                              (Office 
    Policy - March, 2000)          IRREGULAR PASSES CAUSING DAMAGE - LAW 23      South passes and, before West can call, North 
    opens 1 spade. The TD      explains the options to East who does not 
    accept the bid out of turn.       After West opens the bidding, North elects to 
    pass at his turn. The TD      correctly rules that South must pass throughout 
    the rest of the      auction. During the play, it is discovered that 
    North's original      action was a psych. What further action should 
    the TD take?        Whenever a player is barred from the auction, 
    the TD should inform the      opponents that, in some situations, they are 
    entitled to protection if      they are damaged by the enforced pass. LAW 31 
    (BID OUT OF ROTATION),      like other laws that mandate an enforced pass, 
    refers the TD to       LAW 23: When the penalty for an irregularity 
    under any Law would      compel the offender's partner to pass at his 
    next turn, and when the      TD deems that the offender, at the time of his 
    irregularity, could      have known that the enforced pass would be 
    likely to damage the      non-offending side, he shall require the 
    auction and play to continue,      afterwards awarding an adjusted score if he 
    considers that the      non-offending side was damaged by the enforced 
    pass.        In the situation described above, North knew 
    that it was the      opponents' hand. He held bad cards and his 
    partner had already passed.      So why not psych?  As an added bonus, the TD 
    barred his partner so      they couldn't get into trouble. It seemed as if 
    he had discovered the      perfect psych. Unfortunately for North, there's 
    always a catch. In      this case the TD should rule that North could 
    have known when he bid      out of turn that an enforced pass might work to 
    his benefit. If the      opponents were damaged by the "safe psych", the 
    score should be      adjusted. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 3) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
          ANOTHER EXAMPLE:      A player who really wants to play 3NT, bids 3 
    clubs to show a stopper.       The opponents are quick to point out that, 
    since his partner's last      bid was 4 diamonds, his call is insufficient. 
    Now he faces a real      dilemma. Five clubs is way too high and 4NT is 
    ace asking. Then he      hears the TD telling him that his partner would 
    have to pass any call      other than 5 clubs. 4NT, he cries. It seems too 
    good to be true and,      of course, it is.        The TD should rule that all the necessary 
    aspects of Law 23 are      present. In a normal auction the player could 
    not stop in 4NT and, at      the time of his 3 club bid, he could have known 
    that this was a way to      bar his partner. If 4NT yields a favorable 
    result, the board should be      adjusted.        A THIRD EXAMPLE:      A player in third chair with a balanced 16 
    count opens 1NT out of      turn. His partner is barred and it goes 
    pass-pass to him. He elects to      bid only 1NT which gets passed out. His partner 
    puts down a 10 count      in dummy. As it happens, all the cards are 
    wrong and he makes just two      for a top. In this case Law 23 does NOT apply. 
    The player had no way      of knowing when he opened out of turn that 
    barring his partner could      help his side. This is just the rub of the 
    green and he keeps his good      score.        In all of these examples, the offender was 
    assumed to act without      malice aforethought. If the TD was convinced 
    that the player had acted      deliberately to bar his partner, it would be 
    cause enough to convene a      conduct hearing.        LAW 72.B.2: A player must not infringe a law 
    intentionally, even if      there is a prescribed penalty that one is 
    willing to pay.  The offense      may be the more serious when no penalty is 
    prescribed.                                          (Directions 
    - January/April 1993)     
         ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT OPPONENTS' AGREEMENTS      The following is an article by Chip Martel 
    published in the ACBL      Bulletin June, 1996 - This article and the 
    opinions it expresses are      endorsed by the ACBL Laws Commission and ACBL 
    management.        Bridge is not a game of secret codes, so Law 20 
    gives players the      right to ask questions about their opponents' 
    agreements regarding      bids, leads and signals.  These questions can 
    be asked by any player      whenever it is that player's turn to bid or 
    play.        Sometimes, however, questions can cause a 
    problem.  Here are three      cases in point:        1. A recent letter to the Bulletin described a 
    situation where the         letter writer was criticized for asking 
    about his opponents' bids         after each Alert was made.      2. There have also been problems when the 
    opening leader leads an ace         and the declarer asks what the opponents 
    lead from ace-king         despite holding the king. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 4) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            3. A similar situation occurred when the 
    opening leader asked about         this Blackwood auction:                     1S - P - 4NT - P                   5C - P - 5D  - P                   5S - P - 6S    all pass        The opening leader was told 5 clubs showed one 
    or three key cards, and      that 5 diamonds asked for the trump queen.  The 
    leader then asked      about the 5 spade response even though the 
    asker held the spade queen.        In this column I will discuss some guidelines 
    for asking questions and      how they apply to these three cases.        There are certain normal types of questions 
    which can be asked without      anyone's drawing inferences about what you 
    had.  Perhaps the most      common normal question is after an opponent 
    Alerts a bid.  If you want      to ask at your next turn to call, you are 
    perfectly within your rights      to do so.  A second normal time to ask about 
    the opponents' auction is      at trick one.  Before the opening lead, or 
    before playing to trick one      (as either declarer or non-leader), it is 
    normal to ask for an      explanation of the auction.        Again, you may make a general inquiry about the 
    auction, or ask about      any Alertable bids freely.  You should be 
    careful about your      questions, however.  Questions such as, "Could 
    you please explain the      auction?", "Any special agreements about 2 
    spades?" or "Was 3 clubs      forcing?" are fine.        But it is best not to guess what a bid shows as 
    part of your question      such as "Was 4 diamonds a splinter?".  Looking 
    at the opponents'      convention card is also a good way to get 
    information without      suggesting what you are interested in.        As declarer you are free to ask about the 
    opponents' leads and signals      at any time, but the normal time to ask is at 
    trick one.  Thus, at      trick one you are free to look at an opponent's 
    convention card or ask      about a lead EVEN IF YOU KNOW FOR SURE WHAT THE 
    OPENING LEADER HAS.        There are two reasons for this.  First if an 
    opponent leads an ace it      would be foolish to have a rule which said that 
    you could find out if      the opponents lead ace from ace-king only when 
    you do not have the      king.  This would force you to reveal if you 
    had the king every time      an ace was led!  Second, even if you have the 
    king, you often want to      know whether the leader's partner expects the 
    leader to have the king.      Third hand's signal on the lead of an ace is 
    quite different if the      lead usually shows the ace-king than if the 
    lead denies the king.        If the information if available on the 
    convention card, it is best to      get your information there.  This may avoid 
    having an opponent infer      something from a direct question.        With ground rules established, we can now 
    address the three cases      cited. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 5) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            In Case 1 the player was perfectly entitled to 
    ask about each      Alertable bid as it was made.  If you want to 
    know what the opponents'      auction means as it develops, you must do so.        Case 2 was covered above.  At trick one you may 
    ask about the      opponents' leads without their having any right 
    to draw an inference      about your hand.  Keep in mind, however, that 
    it is best to ask a      neutral question such as "What does the ace 
    lead show?" or "What are      your leads?" rather than "Do you lead ace from 
    ace-king?"  YOU MIGHT      ALSO SEEK THE INFORMATION ON THE CONVENTION 
    CARD.        Similarly in Case 3, after the Blackwood 
    auction, the opening leader      was perfectly entitled to know what the 5 spade 
    bid showed (in fact it      was poor form by the declaring side not to have 
    included an      explanation of 5 spades when describing the 
    auction).  Again, this is      because you are not required to give away your 
    hand in order to find      out what the opponents' bids mean.        Also, even if you had the queen of trumps you 
    might be very interested      in the meaning of 5 spades.  Perhaps the 5 
    spade bidder decided to      show the spade queen even though he didn't have 
    it (or perhaps he made      a mistake).  You are entitled to know if the 6 
    spade bidder thought      their side had the trump queen.        So far, we have been talking about normal 
    questions.  To clarify this,      let's now consider a not-so-normal question.  
    If the auction starts      one diamond - pass - one heart, to ask about 
    the one heart bid would      be an unusual question.  Almost everyone plays 
    this auction the same,      and any unusual meaning should be Alerted.  
    Thus, a question about one      heart at this point would strongly suggest that 
    you have some hearts      and are surprised by the one heart bid.        If you ask about an unAlerted bid in the middle 
    of an auction, your      opponents' may be entitled to protection if you 
    have no reason to ask      about this bid.  You may also put your side at 
    risk by passing      information to your partner by this question.  
    If, after you ask about      the one heart bid, your partner later chooses a 
    heart as an opening,      your opponents may be entitled to redress.        This last example raises another important 
    issue about questions.  Any      time you ask a question during the auction or 
    as a defender you may      pass unauthorized information to your partner.  
    Asking questions at      normal times usually does not convey 
    information.  If you rarely ask      about Alerted bids during the auction, however, 
    and then ask about an      Alerted three club bid, you may be telling your 
    partner you have      clubs.        Sometimes a failure to ask a question may also 
    pass information.  For      example, if an opponent opens a skip bid of two 
    diamonds, which is      Alerted, and you wait 10 seconds before 
    passing, but don't ask about      the two diamond bid (or look at the convention 
    card), you may tell      your partner you have no interest in bidding no 
    matter what two      diamonds shows. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 6) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            Normally you should ask about an Alerted skip 
    bid immediately and then      wait 10 seconds after the answer.  Thus you do 
    the same thing both      when you have a problem (and first need to know 
    what the opposing bid      means, then need some time to think about what 
    to do) and when you      have a clear action.        It is particularly bad form to double an 
    Alerted bid without asking or      checking its meaning.  This tells your partner 
    you have such a strong      holding you can double no matter what the bid 
    means.        TWELVE OR FEWER CARDS IN DUMMY      Law 41D states "...dummy spreads his hand in 
    front of him on the      table, face up, sorted into suits, the cards in 
    order of rank, in      columns pointing lengthwise towards declarer, 
    with trumps to dummy's      right..."        In a case where the dummy places 12 (or fewer) 
    cards on the table and      the defense is injured by not cashing an 
    obvious card, an adjustment      to equity should be made.        For example, dummy lays down xxxx, xxxx, x, xxx 
    at a spade contract.       The defense leads the diamond Ace and would 
    clearly have continued the      suit except for dummy's singleton.  The TD 
    should adjust the score by      that trick or to the score that would have been 
    obtained with normal      defense had dummy been placed correctly.                                     (Office 
    Clarification - January, 1995)          PENALTY CARDS - MAJOR/MINOR      Possibly the least understood change in the 
    1987 edition of the Laws      is the creation of the "minor penalty card."        For a defender's exposed card to be a minor 
    penalty card, it must be a      single card smaller than a 10 which is 
    accidentally exposed.  For      example, if a defender pulls a card from his 
    hand and another card,      the four of clubs falls on the table face up, 
    that card becomes a      minor penalty card.        It may help to think of such a card as a 
    "restricted" card, rather      than a minor penalty card -- in effect, there 
    is no penalty associated      with it , only a restriction on that player's 
    subsequent play in that      suit.  The restriction is a small one. He may 
    not play another card in      that suit below the rank of 10 before he plays 
    the penalty card; he      may, however, choose to play an honor card. 
     There are NO lead      penalties for offender or his partner.        Two points should be borne in mind about 
    penalty cards.  First,      declarer never has one.  Second, if partner has 
    a major penalty card      and you obtain the lead, declarer has the right 
    to let your partner      pick up that card and then require or forbid 
    you to lead that suit.      So, if you're on lead and partner has a penalty 
    card, don't lead      before declarer has a chance to exercise his 
    options.                                           (ACBL 
    Bulletin  -- January 1993)   
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 7) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
          PLAYED CARD      The Laws treat a played card by a defender much 
    differently from a      played card by declarer.        Law 45.C.1 says that a defender's card must be 
    played if it is held so      that it is possible for partner to see its 
    face.  Note that it is      irrelevant that partner claims to have not seen 
    the card or says that      he was not looking; the director need only 
    determine that defender's      partner COULD have seen the card had he been 
    looking.        Law 45.C.2 says that declarer's card is played 
    if it is held in a      faced position touching or nearly touching the 
    table, or held in a      position that indicates it has been played.  
    The fact that one (or      even both) of the defenders has seen the card 
    is not germane.        In addition, any player must play a card he 
    names or otherwise      designates as one he intends to play.  A card 
    from dummy is played if      declarer so designates it, or if he 
    intentionally touches it other      than to arrange dummy's cards.        Law 46.A instructs declarer to clearly state 
    the suit and rank      whenever he calls a card from dummy.  If 
    declarer fails to do so, Law      46.B explains the consequences.        One should be aware of the parenthetical clause 
    in the first paragraph      of 46.B., which states that the restrictions 
    enumerated later apply      EXCEPT when declarer's other intention was 
    incontrovertible. Failure      to take this segment into account may cause a 
    Director to err in      certain situations.  Whether the intention was 
    "incontrovertible" is a      matter of judgement.  Note that this same 
    standard applies to naming a      suit but not a rank, or the reverse - or 
    declarer's directive to "play      anything."  (ACBL Bulletin - January 1993)        NOTE: Directors should be alert to situations 
    where an apparent      inadvertency is actually an instance of the 
    declarer thinking ahead,      i.e., calling a card to the current trick that 
    he really intends to      play to a subsequent trick. For example, 
    declarer has led his      singleton to dummy's AK of an off suit. He 
    plans to cash both and take      a pitch from his hand and then play a trump 
    towards his hand. Before      he cashes the second high card from dummy he 
    calls for dummy's trump      and then wants to retract it as inadvertent. To 
    be deemed inadvertent,      a called card from dummy must be solely the 
    result of a slip of the      tongue and not a momentary mental lapse. Hence, 
    declarers attempted      changed may not be allowed.  (Office policy - 
    12/2003)   
         CALLING ATTENTION DURING PLAY TO A CARD TURNED 
    THE WRONG WAY      At their recent meetings in Toronto, the ACBL 
    Laws Commission agreed      that it was NOT illegal, to point out during 
    play that another player      has a trick turned wrong - this is to say that 
    no law specifically      forbids it. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 8) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            However, they also point out that the practice, 
    in general, cannot be      considered proper.  There are a number of laws 
    that touch on the      issue.  Law 65.C comes closest to the point by 
    saying that "EACH      PLAYER ARRANGES HIS OWN CARDS in an orderly 
    overlapping row in the      sequence played, so as to permit review of the 
    play after its      completion, IF NECESSARY TO DETERMINE THE 
    NUMBER OF TRICKS WON BY EACH      SIDE or the order in which the cards were 
    played."        This is one of those laws that establishes 
    proper procedure.  No      penalties are mentioned; indeed, a violation is 
    usually of no great      consequence.  If it ever did become a problem 
    (e.g. a player never      keeps track and consistently argues about the 
    number of tricks won) a      Director could penalize the offender by powers 
    granted in Law 90.        Other laws affect only some of the players at 
    the table:        THE DUMMY:      Law 43.A.1.c: "Dummy must not participate in 
    the play, nor may he      communicate anything about the play to 
    declarer", prohibits dummy from      saying just about everything, including that 
    which has to do with the      way another player's cards are arranged.  
    However, dummy is allowed to      attempt to stop declarer from leading out of 
    turn, which might serve      to alert declarer to the fact that he did not 
    win the previous trick.        (Law 42.B.2: He may try to prevent any 
    irregularity by declarer.)        THE DEFENDERS:      In the Proprieties, Law 73.A.1 says that 
    "communication between      partners during the auction and play should be 
    effected only by means      of the calls and plays themselves."  It follows 
    from this that      partners are not allowed to "communicate" with 
    one another when they      have a trick turned wrong.  A player might, for 
    example, make a      seemingly innocent comment that his partner has 
    the current trick      turned wrong and, because of this, partner 
    could avoid making a      defensive error later in the hand.  This is 
    precisely why such a law      exists.  On the other hand, it would be silly 
    to expect three players      to wait patiently for the fourth player to wake 
    up to the fact that he      won the last trick.  A simple "your lead 
    partner" would be completely      understandable.        It is hard to imagine an instance in which a 
    declarer could be faulted      for drawing attention to the fact that dummy or 
    an opponent had a      trick turned wrong.  Of course, if declarer 
    erred in what he said, he      could be held responsible should an opponent 
    subsequently misdefend.        The often cited example of a defender cashing 
    the setting trick to 3NT      after partner wakes him from his reverie with 
    "we have four tricks      partner" should be dealt with as in all similar 
    cases: by applying Law      16. 
    
   
                                                             LAWS.033 (PAGE 9) 
     
                                                             _________________ 
            (Spider Harris adds the following on turning a 
    card the wrong way)      It is, in general, not proper to announce that 
    another player has      turned a card the wrong way.  Such notification 
    might be construed as      a suggestion to partner as to how play should 
    be conducted thereafter,      such as suggesting that partner take a trick if 
    he can, or some such.      Certain exceptions might be noted, however.  If 
    declarer tells either      the dummy or an opponent, there can hardly have 
    been any unauthorized      communication, and a later dispute as to the 
    result might thus be      avoided.  In addition, it will frequently be 
    alright to call attention      to such a card on the just-completed trick.  
    This would often serve to      prevent a lead out of turn, or an unreasonable 
    delay by the person who      does not realize that he won the trick.        A defender or the dummy should be careful about 
    speaking up, since      such action might affect the result.  If the 
    action may have      constituted the transfer of unauthorized 
    information, the Director      should consider assigning an adjusted score if 
    such information was      likely to have influenced the play.        In short, if you are the dummy or a defender, 
    just leave it alone      until the hand is over.  However, it would seem 
    that declarer can      never be wrong to call attention to anyone else 
    at the table.                                          (Directions 
    - July/October, 1992)     
         DISAGREEMENT OVER A CALL (OR CALL OF A CARD IN 
    DUMMY)      When there is a dispute pertaining to a call or 
    the call of a card      from dummy, it is customary to give more weight 
    to the "speaker's"      statement.        In cases where there is no evidence to the 
    contrary TDs should rule in      agreement with the "speaker".  This would apply 
    to cases where it is      2 to 2 or 1 to 1.        Where all the other players (excepting the 
    "speaker") have given SOME      indication that they thought the "speaker" said 
    something else, TDs      should rule with the majority.        In cases that are 2 to 1 it is material to 
    which side the one      abstaining belongs.  When the "speaker's" 
    partner abstains, there      should be a slight tendency to rule with the 
    majority.  When it is a      member of the other side abstaining, there 
    should be a marked tendency      to rule with the majority.         These are guidelines.  Whenever there is 
    substantial evidence, TDs      should rule with the evidence.  Committees have 
    purview as these      matters are questions of fact.  (Office Policy 
    - November, 1994)        LEAD OUT OF TURN      The Laws define a lead: "The first card played 
    to a trick."  For the      first trick, the "opening lead" is properly 
    made by the defender to      declarer's left; for later tricks the lead is 
    properly made from the      hand which won the preceding trick. That all 
    seems simple enough, but      the matter often becomes quite a bit more 
    complex. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 10) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
            The declarer has many options.  He may accept 
    the lead than then be      either the declarer or the dummy.  He may 
    reject the lead and either      (1) leave it as a penalty card while permitting 
    the other defender to      lead anything he wishes, or (2) have it picked 
    up without further      penalty attached to it and require the other 
    defender to lead that      suit (once) or forbid the lead of that suit 
    (for so long as the proper      leader retains the lead).        Please note that in the case of a lead out of 
    turn withdrawn when      declarer either requires or forbids the lead of 
    the suit by the proper      hand, law 16C2 applies to the defending side.  
    The partner of the      player who led out of turn may make no play 
    that could be based on the      knowledge that his partner holds the card led 
    out of turn if he has a      logical alternative play available to him.        For other defenders' leads at partner's turn, 
    the declarer has exactly      these same options - except that whether he is 
    to be declarer or dummy      has already been decided.  And, as above, if 
    declarer either forbids      or requires the lead of the suit led out of 
    turn from the proper      leader, law 16C2 will still apply.        Declarer's lead from the wrong hand is not so 
    severely penalized since      he has no penalty cards.  When the declarer's 
    side is properly on lead      and he leads from the wrong hand, either 
    defender has the right to      accept or reject the improper lead.  If either 
    defender plays to the      lead, it is accepted (but if the defender to 
    the right of the improper      lead is the first to play, Law 57 gives the 
    declarer extensive      rights); if either rejects it, the card must be 
    withdrawn and declarer      leads what he wishes from the correct hand.        Extending all these rights to the defenders may 
    tax the Director's      ability since there are two defenders each 
    having two options; whoever      acts first speaks for the partnership, and they 
    may not consult about      the option to be selected.  If both act at the 
    same time, a play takes      precedence over an oral selection to reject the 
    lead, or, if both      speak, next in rotation after the irregular 
    lead "wins."        If the declarer leads when it was a defender's 
    turn, the defenders'      options are as above, except that if the lead 
    is to be retracted, of      course the proper defender then leads, rather 
    than the declarer.        It is important to note that a lead must be 
    made intentionally -- a      card exposed accidentally, or one inadvertently 
    played as the fifth      card to a trick, is not to be treated as a 
    lead.  The only time that      intent is not a factor occurs when you, as a 
    defender, must lead a      penalty card. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 11) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
          MISTAKEN BID - MISTAKEN EXPLANATION      Although the subject has been covered in past 
    articles, there still      seems to be some confusion about the difference 
    between a mistaken bid      and a mistaken explanation. Part of the problem 
    stems from the fact      that, on the surface, the two situations are 
    identical.        Assume that North makes a bid and South tells 
    East-West that it shows      a certain hand. It later becomes evident that 
    North's hand bears no      resemblance to the one described by South.        East-West summon the Director and claim damage. 
    "I would never have      done what I did if he had told me what he 
    really had!" says East, and      all agree with him.  What happens then?        Before a ruling can be made, the Director must 
    first determine whether      North made a bid that was not in accordance 
    with his partnership      agreement (a mistaken bid), or whether South 
    told the opponents of an      agreement which did not exist (a mistaken 
    explanation).  The      legalities of the two are totally different.        MISTAKEN BID      It is NOT illegal to make the wrong bid because 
    you have forgotten      your partnership agreement.  Usually in such 
    cases, you will reach a      bad contract and get a terrible score.  In 
    other words, justice will      be served.  Sometimes, however, you will 
    stumble into a lucky spot or      the opponents will err because they have been 
    given the wrong idea      about your hand.        Regardless, the opponents are unlikely to be 
    due redress for any      apparent damage.  Such situations are simply 
    viewed as the "rub of the      green."        While East may be correct in saying he would 
    have done better had he      known what North actually had, we must remember 
    that North's bid      fooled South as well.  South did all that is 
    required by law: he told      East-West what North's bid promised by 
    agreement.  Therefore, there is      NO ADJUSTMENT.  Of course, it is understood 
    that North is not allowed      to take advantage of partner's proper 
    explanation.        MISTAKEN EXPLANATION      In the above example, if North had bid 
    correctly according to their      agreements and it was South who was in error 
    with his explanation,      then East-West would be entitled to 
    protection.  While South can never      be positive about what North actually holds, he 
    can, and should, know      what North is supposed to have.  When the 
    opponents ask you about a      call for which you have a partnership 
    understanding, you are required      by law to accurately describe your agreement.  
    When South fails to      live up to this responsibility, the Director 
    should give redress for      any apparent or probable damage.        If South correctly informs East-West of his 
    partnership agreement, it      doesn't matter (legally) whether or not North's 
    hand matches the      description. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 12) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
            Since there is no "penalty" for a mistaken bid, 
    other than what the      game itself will often extract, a pair may be 
    tempted to always claim      that the explanation was correct.  For this 
    reason, the Laws instruct      the Director to assume that the explanation was 
    wrong until the      offending pair can produce credible evidence to 
    the contrary.        The most common source of such evidence will be 
    the convention card       -- if what South claims to be the agreement 
    isn't on the card, his      side will probably lose the case.        If South has given a mistaken explanation, then 
    North must inform the      opponents at the proper time:  After the 
    auction is over if he is the      declarer or the dummy; after the play is 
    complete if he is a defender.      If South wakes up later on in the auction and 
    realizes that he has      misinformed the opponents, he should call the 
    director immediately.                                            (ACBL 
    Bulletin - December 1992)          MISTAKEN BID/MISTAKEN EXPLANATION      It is not uncommon for a Director to be called 
    because a player's hand      does not fit the description given previously 
    by his partner.  As we      all know, any ruling in these situations will 
    depend on whether the      bidder forgot (mistaken bid) or the explainer 
    forgot (mistaken      explanation). The first step for the Director, 
    therefore, is to      determine whether the pair had an agreement 
    and, if so, what that      agreement was.        The obvious, and simple, way to discover a 
    partnerships's agreements      is to look at their convention card.  However, 
    when doing so, the      Director should be careful to avoid some common 
    traps:        1. Always check to see that both cards are 
    marked the same. If they         are different, it would tend to indicate 
    that the pair never had         an agreement.      2. Make sure that whatever is written on the 
    card applies to the         auction at hand; this is especially 
    important if there has been         any interference by the opponents.      3. Be very skeptical if a pair claims that they 
    play a "variation" of         a convention which they have not so 
    indicated on their convention         card.      4. Remember that if one player thinks their 
    understanding is "X" and         their partner believes it to be "Y", then 
    they in fact have no         agreement and any explanation that doesn't 
    accurately describe         their partner's hand must be ruled as 
    misinformation.        In 1989 the ACBL Laws Commission suggested that 
    Directors should      "assume that a mistaken explanation was given, 
    thus placing the burden      of proof on the offenders." This is, in 
    general, a good policy in many      ruling situations: protect the non-offenders 
    unless the offenders can      offer a clear and convincing defense for their 
    actions.         
                                          (Directions - Jul/Oct, 1992)   
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 13) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
     
         NATURAL NOTRUMP BIDS WITH UNBALANCED HANDS      The following is the response that John Harris 
    used to answer      questions sent to him on Notrump bidding.        1. The bid of a natural notrump MUST promise a 
    balanced hand. No         agreement, either explicit or implicit, that 
    the bid may be made         with an unbalanced hand is legal;  also 
    illegal is any set of         agreements which force certain hands to be 
    opened 1 NT with         unbalanced distribution.         (Example:  A forcing club system with 5-card 
    majors and diamond      openings promising 3+ may force 1 NT on 4-4-1-4 
    or 3-4-1-5 hands.)        2. A range of not more than 5 HCP, or two 
    non-consecutive ranges of 3         HCP, or less, is permitted as a natural 
    call.  Use of a wider         range, or a lower limit of less than 10 HCP, 
    is defined as a         conventional opening and NO conventions 
    (including Stayman) are         permitted in responses or rebids.  These 
    limits apply to NATURAL         NT overcalls as well as openings.        3. Point count ranges for natural NT bids above 
    the 1-level are not         defined, but the restrictions of (1) above 
    apply.        There is not now, nor has there ever been, any 
    regulation which      prohibits a player from opening (or 
    overcalling) a natural NT with a      singleton if sound bridge 
    judgment dictates 
    doing so.  What IS      prohibited is any agreement that such bids do 
    not promise balanced      hands.        Repeated openings with a singleton by any 
    player will tend to create      this implicit and illegal agreement with his 
    partner, and he may be      proscribed from the practice if his reputation 
    precedes him.  Also      forbidden is any set of agreements which force 
    opening NT without a      balanced hand, as mentioned in (1) above.        It also is not legal to open in NT solely to 
    show high card strength.      There appears to be little bridge merit, for 
    example, in opening 1 NT      with                          AQJxxx                          Ax                          x                          AQxx        and one would suspect that is just done to show 
    point count.        When a NT opening hand contains a singleton or 
    void, the Director      needs to look into the overall system to 
    determine whether an      infraction has occurred.  Petitions such as "I 
    just felt like it" or      "It seemed the right thing to do" should be 
    looked at askance, and the      burden of proof that the action was "good 
    bridge" is on the bidder.       If these tests fail to support the bid, then 
    the opponents should be      protected from damage. It would be appropriate 
    to assess a procedural      penalty for violation, particularly if the 
    offender has a history of      transgressions of a similar nature. 
    
                          
                                     LAWS.033 (PAGE 14)   
                                                            __________________ 
          CLAIMS MADE WITH AN OUTSTANDING TRUMP      The Director shall not accept from claimer any 
    successful line of play      not embraced in the original clarification 
    statement if there is an      alternative normal line of play that would be 
    less successful.        With Spades as trumps, the lead is in the dummy 
    and declarer says      dummy's good".        Dummy:      CASE 1:  Spades    A    CASE 2:  Spades    2    
    CASE 3:  Spades    Q               Hearts    A             Hearts    
    A             Hearts    A               Diamonds  -           Diamonds  
    -           Diamonds  -               Clubs     A              Clubs     
    A             Clubs     A            Defender holds:   Spades    K                        Hearts    -                        Diamonds  AK                        Clubs     -        In Case 1, no one should have any problem 
    awarding exactly one trick      to the defenders.  Declarer may not play the 
    ace of trumps to extract      any trump of which he was likely unaware and 
    the defender will be able      to rough one of declarer's outside aces.        In Case 2, should the Director require that 
    declarer lead the deuce of      spades first?  The argument put forth to 
    support this position says      that since declarer is convinced that all of 
    dummy's cards are good,      the Director should shuffle them and randomly 
    pick the deuce.  This      line of reasoning depends on the premise that 
    all "good" cards are      equal.  However it must be clear that trumps 
    are intrinsically      different and any value that the deuce has as a 
    trump would be wasted      by leading it.  Remember also that the Laws 
    dealing with claims keep      referring to "normal" lines of play, which 
    embraces the careless and      inferior play but not the irrational.  The only 
    rational purpose in      playing the deuce is to execute some sort of 
    squeeze, which clearly      does not apply in example 2 above.  The play of 
    the deuce is not      rational: it can do not good, and may be 
    harmful.        What then if dummy's trump is the 4? or the 6? 
    or the 8? Where should      one draw the line?        Consider the third case.  Would it be normal 
    for declarer to play the      queen of spades?  If declarer plays out the 
    hand, confident that his      outside cards are good, he might well play the 
    queen as a "safety      check" for any overlooked trump.  It is 
    certainly not abnormal for a      declarer to play a "high" trump in these 
    situations.  Thus, the      declarer in Case 3 should be forced to play the 
    queen since it is a      normal play consistent with his statement of 
    claim.  This is true even      though we would NOT ALLOW declarer to play the 
    queen if it were to his      advantage to do so. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 15) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
            Obviously, Directors will seldom be faced with 
    the extremes presented      in 1 and 2 above; most situations will fall 
    somewhere in between.       However, this principle can be applied whenever 
    the Director rules      that declarer's card is such that it would be 
    normal to use it to draw      trumps.  Some cards are inherently high in 
    rank: the ace, obviously,      but also the king and the queen.  Lesser cards 
    may also fall into this      category because of the way that play has gone 
    prior to the claim.       Declarer may falsely believe that a card has 
    been established because      he thinks he has forced out all of the higher 
    ones, for instance.  The      important point to recognize is that there is a 
    difference between a      card that is thought good because of rank and 
    one that is thought good      by virtue of being the last remaining.        Whenever there is an attempt to establish 
    guidelines, there is a risk      that some will use them in lieu of common sense 
    or even of law.       Guidelines are not laws, but are intended to 
    form a basis for      consistency.  With this in mind, the following 
    are given as guidelines      concerning claims:        A. The order of play of non-trump suits should 
    be the worst possible         for claimer (although play within the suit 
    is normally from the         top down).        B. Declarer may never attempt to draw any 
    trumps of which he was         likely unaware, if doing so would be to his 
    advantage.        C. It is considered a normal play for declarer 
    to take a safety check         with a "high" trump.        D. Declarer should not be forced to play the 
    remainder of his trumps         to his disadvantage if both opponents have 
    shown out of the suit.                                          (Directions 
    - July/October, 1992)          REVOKE      I.  How to rule when the Director must 
    determine if a trick has been          won by the revoker with a card he could 
    legally have played to          the revoke trick. (Please note the law 
    specifically states,          "legally played".  It does not allow the 
    Director to use his          judgment to determine if the card would 
    reasonably have been          played.)       1. In the following diagram, declarer leads 
    the ace of spades and          West plays a heart. Later West wins a trick 
    with the king of          spades. That trick is awarded to the 
    non-offenders. Although West          would not have reasonably played his king 
    under the declarer's          ace, the king could legally have been 
    played to the revoke trick.                                              S  Qxx                                              H  xx                                    S  Kx                                    H  Jxx                                    S  Axx                                    H  KQ 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 16) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
             2. There can be a two trick penalty only when 
    the revoking side wins          two or more tricks from the revoke trick 
    and at least one of:             a. The revoker wins the revoke trick 
    (which can only be done by              ruffing);           b. The revoker wins a trick with a card he 
    could legally have              played to the revoke trick.         3. There now can be a two trick penalty when 
    the offending side did          not win the revoke trick.        II. Declarer vs. Dummy as the Revoker - If 
    declarer revokes and if          dummy wins that trick, declarer is not 
    deemed to have won that          trick for purposes of applying Law 64A 1.        There is still no penalty for a revoke by 
    dummy.  Dummy's revoke is      corrected by restoring equity.        TWO LOWER UNBID SUITS      There appears to be a difference of opinion 
    among some Directors about      the meaning of "2 lower unbid" on the 
    Convention Card under DIRECT NT      OVERCALLS.  Originally, the Unusual NT was used 
    to show a minor two      suiter regardless of the opening bid.        A later development excluded opener's minor and 
    used 2NT to show      hearts and the other minor.  If the opening bid 
    was a major suit, 2NT      continued to show both minors.  This is the 
    accepted meaning of 2      lower unbid.        Of course a pair could use direct 2NT overcalls 
    to show any two      specific suits conventionally (or one known and 
    one undisclosed), but      uses other than for the MINORS or TWO LOWER 
    UNBID would require that      the 2NT bid be alerted.        RULINGS IN TEAM GAMES      In team games, when ONE side is responsible for 
    an infraction and the      board has not been played at the other table, 
    the director should make      a ruling or advise the pairs a ruling will be 
    made after consultation.      Meanwhile, the board should be played at the 
    other table. Telling (or      asking) the players to reshuffle should not be 
    an option even if the      situation appears to involve a difficult 
    ruling.  When BOTH pairs or      NEITHER pair is at fault and play of the board 
    has become impossible      or meaningless, a director can order a redeal 
    to avoid a shortened      match.  (Directions - April 1992)        INADVERTENT BID      There have been several questions about the new 
    definition of when a      bid is considered "made" using bidding boxes - 
    especially in how it      relates to law 25A, changing an inadvertent 
    call.        The new definition removes from the director 
    the responsibility of      determining intent. In much the same way that 
    the TD does not need to      consider intent in judging whether declarer has 
    played a card from his      or her hand. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 17) 
                                           
                      __________________          If the director does not consider that a call 
    has been "made," the      applicable Law is no longer 25 but 16, 
    unauthorized information.      Therefore, the change in definition should give 
    the director more      freedom to make a fair and equitable decision 
    when necessary.        If the bid is considered made, however, the 
    director will have to      apply law 25. This means that the director must 
    determine intent      (inadvertency)  and whether the correction or 
    attempt to correct was      without pause for thought.       (April, 2001 - 
    Office Letter)        NOTE:  Be liberal in judging that mechanical 
    irregularities are      inadvertent. However, it continues to be 
    difficult to justify pulling      a bid in place of a pass, double or redouble as 
    mechanical.  Calls      from different pockets should rarely, if at 
    all, be judged as      inadvertent. One understandable exception is 
    placing the double card      out followed shortly with a bid card that skips 
    the bidding.  This      appears clear that the double card was placed 
    inadvertently on the      table.        HUDDLES AND HESITATIONS      Huddle situations are difficult for players, 
    directors, and      committees.  The following are guidelines to be 
    applied by directors      and committees as to how such cases should be 
    handled.        The relevant portions of the Laws that address 
    these issues are:        Law 16: "Players are authorized to base their 
    calls and plays on      information from legal calls and or plays, and 
    from mannerisms of      opponents.  To base a call or play on other 
    extraneous information may      be an infraction of law.        A. After a player makes available to his 
    partner extraneous      information that may suggest a call or play, as 
    by means of a remark,      a question, a reply to a question, or by 
    unmistakable hesitation,      unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, 
    gesture, movement, mannerism      or the like, the partner may not choose from 
    among logical alternative      actions one that could demonstrably have been 
    suggested over another      by the extraneous information."        Law 73A      1. "Communication between partners during the 
    auction and play shall      be effected only by means of the calls and 
    plays themselves.      2. Calls and plays should be made without 
    special emphasis,      mannerism, or inflection, and without undue 
    hesitation or haste.        C. When a player has available to him 
    unauthorized information from      his partner, as from a remark, question, 
    explanation, gesture,      mannerism, special emphasis, inflection, haste 
    or hesitation, he must      carefully avoid taking any advantage that might 
    accrue to his side. 
    
                                              
                 LAWS.033 (PAGE 18)   
                                                            __________________ 
            Law 16A2: When a player has substantial reason 
    to believe that an      opponent who had a logical alternative has 
    chosen an action that could      have been suggested by such information, he 
    should summon the director      forthwith.  The director shall require the 
    auction and play to      continue, standing ready to assign an adjusted 
    score if he considers      that an infraction of law has resulted in 
    damage.        In applying these provisions, a director (or, 
    subsequently, a      committee) follows these guidelines in making a 
    determination as to      whether there should be an adjusted score:        1. Was there unauthorized information present?  
    If so, then,      2. Could a player have made a call that could 
    have been demonstrably         suggested by the unauthorized information?  
    If yes, then      3. Was there a logical alternative call 
    available that was less         suggested by the unauthorized information? A 
    logical alternative         is one that would have been seriously 
    considered by a substantial         number of equivalent players acting on all 
    of the information that         was legitimately available.   If yes, then,      4. Were the opponents damaged through the use 
    of unauthorized         information?        If the answers to all four questions are "yes," 
    the director should      adjust the table result according to law 12.        To examine a typical case, suppose that North 
    opens one spade, east      jumps to four hearts, south passes after a 
    marked hesitation, west      passes and north now rebids four spades.  
    East-west protest.  These      are the four issues to be resolved:        1. Was there a hesitation which was undue and 
    that gave north         unauthorized information?        Most hesitations should be considered undue 
    when they occur in basic,      simple auctions.  For example, a slow pass as 
    dealer or over an      opponent's one level opening bid would be 
    considered undue.  However,      there are some high level competitive positions 
    in which it is more      normal (thus less informative) to huddle 
    briefly than to act in      tempo-that is the point of the skip-bid 
    warning.  If East did give the      skip-bid warning, a 10 second huddle by South 
    is obviously far from      undue (a pass in tempo would be undue haste).  
    And if East gave no      warning, a normal hesitation by south is not 
    undue.  However, an      agonized 30 second trance would be undue, 
    regardless of whether a      skip-bid warning was given. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 19) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
            2. Did north make a call that could have 
    demonstrably been suggested         by the huddle when he bid 4 spades?        If an overwhelming majority of north's peers 
    would have made the same      call without the hesitation, then he has no 
    logical alternative to the      action he took even if a small minority of his 
    peers might have      actually passed or doubled.  If a substantial 
    minority of his peers      would choose to pass or double, there is a 
    logical alternative even      though more than half of his peers might choose 
    to take the action he      did.  The question is not whether it is logical 
    for north to bid 4      spades, but whether it would also have been 
    logical for him to do      something else.        3. Could south's slow pass suggest north's 4 
    spade bid over some         logical alternative?        The answer to this question is likely to be YES 
    if Pass was an      alternative.  The fact that south had something 
    to think about makes      it more attractive for north to choose action 
    over inaction.  In      contrast, if north is so powerful that his only 
    logical alternative to      4 spades are other bids or double, then the 
    answer is likely no  -      south's huddle indicates he has some values, 
    but not necessarily in      spades.        4. Were east-west damaged by the infraction?        If 4 spades made, or if it was a good 
    sacrifice, usually YES.       However, if north's hand was so huge that his 
    alternative to bidding 4      spades was doubling, certainly not passing, and 
    if 4 hearts doubled      would have been set more than the value of 
    north-south's game, then,      there was no damage.  If 4 spades went down 
    when 4 hearts would also      have been set by routine defense, again, there 
    was no damage.        Some Common misconceptions about huddles are as 
    follows:        1. North is barred by partner's slow pass 
    unless he has 100% action.      FALSE!  South's hesitation, if it was undue, 
    restricts north's      options, but only when alternatives are logical 
    and then only in      respect to those alternatives that could be 
    suggested.  So north is      often entitled to act.        2. North may bid 4 spades so long as he did not 
    base his decision on         partner's slow pass.      FALSE!  Committees should pay scant attention 
    to testimony such as, "I      always bid in auctions like this", or " hardly 
    noticed south's huddle      - I had already made up my mind to bid 4 
    Spades."        It is not that these statements are 
    self-serving and unverifiable-the      real point is that they are IRRELEVANT.  The 
    issue is not whether the      slow pass suggested the 4 spade bid to this 
    particular north, but,      whether, to north players in general, the 
    hesitation COULD  make the 4      spade bid more attractive than a logical 
    alternative. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 20) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
            3. After south's slow pass, north may not take 
    a doubtful action.       FALSE!  North will commonly be faced with a 
    choice among a number of      reasonable options, all of them doubtful.  The 
    rules of bridge require      that north do something at his turn-every one 
    of his options cannot be      illegal.  The illegality is for north to select 
    a particular option      that could be suggested over another by 
    partner's huddle.        4. North may bid 4 spades if that would have 
    been reasonable action         had partner not hesitated.      FALSE!  The issue is not whether 4 spades was 
    reasonable, but whether      any alternatives were.        5. North may not make a risky 4 spades bid, 
    which could result in a         huge set when South has nothing, now that 
    the huddle tells him         that south has something.      FALSE!  Even if the 4 spade bid would be 
    disastrous one time in three,      there may be no logical alternative to it.  The 
    test is not whether      the bid would be successful an overwhelming 
    proportion of the time,      but whether an overwhelming proportion of 
    players would choose to run      the risk.        6. The director's decision (or the committee's) 
    to bar north's 4         spade bid, to adjust the score, in effect 
    convicted north-south of         being unethical.      FALSE!  What the director found was that 
    north's 4 spade bid was a      technical irregularity, like a revoke.  It 
    adjusted the score to      redress possible damage from that irregularity, 
    just as it would take      away a trick or two had north revoked.  In 
    hesitation cases, directors      should be concerned not with crime and 
    punishment, but with damage and      redress.        LOGICAL 
    ALTERNATIVE(S)      The ACBL Laws Commission has been asked for an 
    interpretation of the      phrase "logical alternative" as used in law 
    16.  A logical alternative      is a call that would be seriously considered by 
    at least a substantial      minority of equivalent players, acting on the 
    basis of all the      information legitimately available.        Suppose that west is dealer at favorable 
    vulnerability.  He opens 4      hearts, north and east pass and south holds               S AQ10763 H 94 D Q106 C 74.        Let us assume as "bridge fact" that most 
    players would consider it      wrong to reopen with four spades, but that many 
    would be tempted to do      so.  Then, both pass and four spades are 
    "logical alternatives."      Thus      CASE A: North took only a few seconds to pass 
    over four hearts,              although west announced a skip bid.  
    Furthermore, while south              was considering his actions, north 
    impatiently detached a              card from his hand as if to lead it. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 21) 
                                         
                        __________________          All this could reasonably suggest a pass to 
    South.  And South did      indeed pass, which was just as well for him 
    since north happened have      a near Yarborough.  South later explained to 
    the director that he      would never bid with a hand like that.  He said 
    he took his normal      action by passing.  In this case, the director 
    should adjust the score      to 4SX, down 1100 if that was likely. Rule that 
    way even if believing      South's explanation completely.  What matters 
    is not that South would      have bid in the absence of unauthorized 
    information, but that four      spades was a logical alternative 
    contraindicated by north's tempo and      gesture.        If the director believes that south may have 
    taken deliberate      advantage, he should impose additional 
    procedural penalties for      violation of law 73C.        CASE B: North pondered for 30 seconds over four 
    hearts, and asked              east how weak in high cards west could 
    be, then passed.               South reopened with four spades, 
    successfully as north had a              good hand.  South later explained that 
    he had made up his              mind when west opened that he was 
    always going to bid four              spades.        In this case, because a pass to four hearts was 
    contraindicated by      north's tempo and questions, adjust the score 
    to the result for four      hearts passed out.  If it was at all likely 
    that four hearts would      make, assign that score.  If it was likely that 
    four hearts might go      down one or two depending on the lead, assign 
    the most favorable      result that was at all likely for east-west.  
    If the outcome is in      doubt, the director may assign non-matching 
    scores for both sides.       For example, he might rule four hearts making 
    for north-south, four      hearts down one or two for east-west.        RESPONSIBILITY OF PLAYERS TO PLAY BRIDGE.      At the 1992 Indianapolis NABCs, the ACBL Laws 
    Commission reaffirmed      the position that in order to fully protect 
    their rights, bridge      players are under an obligations to play at a 
    reasonable level      commensurate with their expertise.  A serious 
    misplay can be cause for      a player to have to accept a bad score that was 
    actually achieved even      though the offender's score should be 
    adjudicated.        The positions that any result achieved after a 
    to-be-disallowed action      is not to be considered (because the 
    non-offenders should never have      been a position to commit the egregious error) 
    was declared invalid.        When the director decides that there has been a 
    violation of law      resulting in damage to an innocent opponent, he 
    shall adjust the score      using the guidelines of law 12C2, which states, 
    "When the director      awards an assigned adjusted score in place of a 
    result actually      obtained after an irregularity, the score is, 
    for the non-offending      side, the most favorable result that was likely 
    had the irregularity      not occurred, or, for the offending side, the 
    most unfavorable result      that was at all probable." 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 22) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
          For example:  S  T3                          H  J6                          D  AKJ4                          C  KQT52           S  A54                        S  Q9876           H  Q7                         H  T542           D  T8                         D  976           C  J97643                     C  8                          S  KJ2                          H  AK983                          D  Q532                          C  A                        
    N    E      S    W       
                                                           P     1H   P                                                       2C   P      2D   P                                                       
    3D   P      3H   P                                            
               4C   P      4H   P                                                       
    5D* P      6D   P      *Noticeable hesitation                   
    P    P      P        East/West called the director after 6D bid 
    following the hesitation.      The director instructed that play should 
    continue and after South made      the slam, ruled the contract to be 5 diamonds 
    making six.  North/South      appealed.        The committee upheld the ruling, reasoning that 
    South's bidding had      shown considerable extra values and North had 
    suggested that 5      diamonds was the proper contract.  The 
    committee felt a significant      minority would have passed over 5 diamonds.  
    However, during their      questioning, they learned that South had 
    misplayed the contract and      East could have beaten it.  After determining 
    how the play went, the      committee judged that East should have known he 
    could ruff a trick to      set the contract and failed to make an easy 
    play (for his level of      expertise) by not ruffing.        The committee ruled that north-south can not 
    bid 6 diamonds after the      hesitation but that east-west had a clear shot 
    to set the contract      which they failed to do only because of their 
    own carelessness.       Therefore, the most favorable result for 
    east-west was in fact 6      diamonds properly defended and the most 
    unfavorable result for      north-south was five diamonds, making six.  The 
    final ruling was to      score east-west minus 920, the result at the 
    table.  For north-south,      plus 420, the presumed result of a five 
    diamonds contract. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 23) 
     
                                                            __________________ 
          THE WONDERFUL LAW 25 B      The following was taken from the ACBL Bulletin:      Before getting into law 25, everyone should be 
    aware of the definition      of when a bid is considered made using bidding 
    boxes. A great part of      the intent of the change was to enable the 
    director to apply law 16      rather than 25. The definition from Appendix G 
    is, "Players must      choose a call before touching any card in the 
    box. A call is      considered made when a bidding card is removed 
    from the bidding box      and held touching or nearly touching the table 
    or maintained in such a      position to indicate that the call has been 
    made." So, if you rule      that no call has been made, you should apply 
    law 16.  Law 25 should      only apply when it is ruled that an original 
    call has been made      according to the definition above.        You are called to a table. You determine that, 
    1) a call was made; 2)      that there was a desire to change it or it was 
    changed; and 3) law 25      B applies.        The only way to make that final determination 
    (that 25 B applies) is      that the call was intentionally selected (i.e., 
    it was not      inadvertent) and the player's LHO has not 
    called.         1. If the first call was insufficient, we get 
    to leave law 25 for the      more pleasant environment of law 27.      2. If both calls are legal, LHO may accept the 
    second call as legal      and the auction proceeds without penalty.       3. If by some chance LHO has made a call over 
    the first call, then the      second call stands without penalty but law 16C2 
    applies.   LHO may      then withdraw his call without penalty.      Onward to see how to proceed if LHO does not 
    condone the change or has      not called.      4. The second call is canceled.      5. If the first call is illegal, the offender 
    is subject to the      appropriate law and law 26 may apply to the 
    second call.      6. If the there were two calls made and the 
    first call is legal, the      offender may elect to have the first call 
    stand. In this case, the      offender's partner must pass at his next 
    opportunity and the director      may apply law 23.      7. If the offender does not want to let the 
    first call stand or wishes      to make a purposeful correction if he has not 
    already done so, the      offender may make any other legal call. In this 
    case, the offender's      withdrawn call may not be used as a basis for 
    subsequent calls by the      offender's partner and the offending side may 
    receive no score greater      than an Average Minus.        The non-offending side receives the score 
    obtained at the table. The      only time they may not receive the score at the 
    table is if the      partner of the offender is judged to have based 
    a call on the      offender's withdrawn action.        *** This law is intended to enable a side to 
    recover somewhat from a       mis-bid which although intentional was based 
    upon a brain hemorrhage. 
    
   
                                                            LAWS.033 (PAGE 24) 
                  
                                               __________________          Except for knockout play, there may be two way 
    scores. In knockout      play only, there must be one result. Therefore, 
    a two-way  adjustment      in knockout play (see Law 86 B) is accomplished 
    by calculating each      contestant's (team's) score separately and then 
    averaging the two IMP      scores. In using this method along with 25B, 
    the non-offender's IMP      score is determined by comparing the result at 
    the table of the      irregularity with the other table's score.   If 
    this comparison gave      the offending side  more than minus three IMPs, 
    the  director awards      the offending side minus three IMPs as their 
    score. The director than      averages the two scores (the minus three and 
    the IMPs scored by the      offending side using the obtained results). 
    This averaged score      becomes the result for each team (plus or minus 
    as appropriate).        8. As with most withdrawn calls, law 26 applies 
    if the offender's side      are defenders.      If a player chooses to make an intentional 
    change of call, his side is      limited to an average minus: no better than 40% 
    of the matchpoints      available.  The non-offenders will keep 
    whatever score they achieve on      the board.        Example: a player changes a pass to a 4 heart 
    call and makes 5 (+650)      1) Matchpoints: if +650 is worth 9 out of 12 
    matchpoints; the      offending side would be adjusted to 4.8 (Ave-) 
    while the non offenders      would keep -650 for a score of 3.  If +650 were 
    worth 3 matchpoints      (less than Ave-), then both sides would keep 
    the score achieved at the      table.  To enter this result with ACBLScore, 
    the TD should hit S      (special) and post Q65+ for the offenders and 
    65- for the non-      offenders.      2) Swiss Teams: if at the other table, the 
    offending pair's teammates      beat 6 hearts for +100, then the non-offenders 
    would lose 13 IMPs      (-750) and the offenders would be adjusted to 
    Ave- (-3 IMPs).  This      could result in a two-way result; i.e., the 
    offending side might win      the match by 10 IMPs while the non-offenders 
    are losing by 23.       Obviously the TD should assist the teams in 
    scoring and reporting the      result.      3) Knockout Teams: since we need to produce one 
    and only one winner in      the match, the different results must be 
    averaged for both teams.  In      the example above for Swiss, where the 
    offenders are -3 IMPs and the      non-offenders are -13 IMPs, the net result 
    would be the average of -3      and +13.  That is (13-3)/2 or 5 IMPs to the 
    offending side and -5 IMPs      for the non-offenders.  Once again, the TD 
    should be available to the      two teams when they are comparing. |